Security Compliance = A Safer Nest


Liz Gray

Head of Community

November 29, 2022

November 29, 2022

November 29, 2022

Do the words “Level 1 PCI DSS compliant” make your heart flutter like the wings of a hummingbird? Is that confusion, excitement, or anxiety? Regardless of your response, we get it.

Quick Review: What is PCI?

The PCI Security Standards Council (PCI SSC) is a global forum of industry stakeholders—think American Express, Discover, JCB International, Mastercard, UnionPay and Visa—who collectively define data security standards to ensure everyone in the ecosystem has faith in the overall security of critical payments data. Maintaining these standards is complicated and essential. That’s a big reason why we’ve made this part of our business: so you can focus on your own areas of expertise. 

Pagos’ Commitment to PCI Compliance

Even though we aren't a payment processor, we were certified as Level 1 PCI DSS compliant for the first time last year. The security requirements associated with this level are typically for businesses processing over six million Visa/Mastercard transactions per year. Some of our services—Toucan and Loon, for example—require this level of compliance, but that’s not the only reason why we sought this certification. Ultimately, we know the data you import into your Pagos account holds critical insights into how your customers behave and interact with you, and it should always be protected.

Our commitment to giving our customers visibility and access to their critical data makes creating a secure environment for that data a necessity. We’ve made an early investment in policies, procedures, and technical infrastructure to protect the data you entrust us with. It’s  on this foundation that we’ll build all of our products. This can’t be done successfully in a vacuum: we’re applying our value of advocating for growth—yours and ours—by going through extra hoops to keep all data secure.

You can find us listed in the Visa registry

Moving Forward

A new version of PCI DSS standards (4.0) is out! Version 3.2.1 remains active through March 2024, and we plan to transition to the new standards next time around.

System and Organization Controls (SOC) 2 certification is next on our list!

Share on LinkedIn
Share on X
Share on Facebook